Sea Monsters

Usually, brachiopods don’t get me very excited(sorry lophophorate nerds), but occasionally I come across something in the field that causes me to do a double take.

Have a look at this monster. It is an orthid brachiopod that was collected from the Millersburg Mb. of the Lexington Limestone in Fayette Co. Kentucky

Hebertella sp.

anterior

Posterior

Dorsal

Apparently, I didn’t photograph the ventral… oh, well.

I have one that is even larger! Somewhere???

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

