There’s Fun in the Water, But There’s Danger, Too

Recently,Callan Bentley had a post of a few critters that he had encountered, lately.

That sent the gears spinning, and I remembered a creepy crawly while at one of my favorite outcrops in Franklin Co. Ky.

In search of diplobathrids at one of my favorite outcrops, I came across this critter. It was in the spring, so it was moving slow. Still, I didn’t want to flip it over to see what the ventral looked like!

Black Widow(Lactrodectus sp.)

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “There’s Fun in the Water, But There’s Danger, Too”

  1. Fossil Detective Says:

    This is one of the reasons I prefer to collect in the winter plus no poison ivy. My cousin and I encountered a black widow on a road cut in Bullitt County, Kentucky. The spider scurried off before I could get my digital camera initialized to take its image.

    Sometimes wear a rubber glove when turning over rocks now on road cuts.

    Safe collecting everyone!

  2. Solius Symbiosus Says:

    I don’t wear gloves, but I always inspect the under surface of a rock before closer inspection of the surface that grabbed my attention. I also lift the stone from the edge that is farthest from me. That way, if there is a snake, I can lower the edge without the critter getting a good chance to bite. Generally, most of the snake that I come across are garter snakes, but I have seen a few copperheads, and once, a rattle snake.

    Too, I don’t how many times that I have had the bejubus scared out me when some insect appeared in the field of view of my hand lens. One would think that after all these years, I would be used to it, but nope, I still recoil in shock at the sight of the “giant” insect.

Leave a Reply

